My goals for the HNG internship plus beginner tutorials to guide you on using Figma, GIT, HTML and Javascript.

My goals for the HNG internship plus beginner tutorials to guide you on using Figma, GIT, HTML and Javascript.

I recently got accepted to be part of the HNG Internship 🥳🥳 and it's pretty exciting. I'll be in the front-end development stack.

The HNG internship is this super cool 8 weeks program where developers and designers alike are challenged with weekly tasks to bring out the best in them. The prize you're asking??? A HNG T-shirt coupled with bragging rights for having come out at the top! Most of the finalists end up securing dev and designer roles after this internship as well.

So with this brief introduction, it's quite obvious that I want to come out on top and thus have a few goals to aid me in reaching that peak of excellence.

1. Communicating and asking for help.

Something I'm learning throughout my programming journey is that communication is key. Without it, you can get stuck with a programming bug that would have been fixed within minutes if you communicated well with your team and asked for help. So my first goal for this internship is to communicate well with my team members, the instructors and the mentors when I'm stuck. I believe this will really save loads of my time moving forward.

2. Teamwork

As we always say, "team work makes the dream work". Before joining this internship, I worked on a group project with an amazing team of ladies. Some of us were involved in the coding side of the project and the others were involved in the designing side of the project. Its safe to say we were a team and this is why our team won when it came to the final projects pitch session. So going into this internship, I will embrace that same team spirit to ensure that I not only learn and improve on my programming skills but also ensure that we come up with the best projects.

3. Prioritising progression and not perfection

This is something that I have had to learn the hard way. It's honestly better to prioritize moving forward with your specific journey (in my case frontend development) than wanting it to be perfect. This for one will save you a lot of time you would have wasted while overthinking a project and worrying if its perfect enough. Give it your best shot and show it to the world. Get feedback and improve on it where necessary. This is another goal I will be using going forward with this internship.

4. Have fun

I think this speaks for itself. I honestly do enjoy coding and all things programming. So far I'm having fun frontend developing and with this internship I'll keep having fun and make those lasting connections.

Here are a couple of beginner tutorials that I have found really amazing and helpful on my learning journey.

Git

The Odin Project Git tutorial

This git tutorial by the Odin Project is a life saver. It's beginner friendly and takes you through the git basics from installing git on your pc, setting up your github profile to creating your first commit on your github repository. Be sure to check it out.

Figma

Intro to Figma - Beginners guide to Figma Basics

This Figma tutorial by Jesse Showalter is amazing. I personally do not have any design experience so this tutorial was really helpful. Having a knack for both programming and design is very advantageous especially if you're looking at frontend development like me! So be sure to check this out as well.

HTML

HTML Full Course - Build a Website Tutorial

This tutorial on HTML by freeCodeCamp is great! Mike (the instructor) takes you through all the HTML basics and you get to build a website with this tutorial as well. I'd recommend to code with Mike on your own personal device while going through this tutorial. You'll not only get to understand the HTML basics but also build on your muscle memory.

Javascript

Javascript for Beginners

I just started going through this tutorial playlist and I have to say, it's perfect if you are just starting out with Javascript. Ed takes you through the basics of Vanilla Javascript and as you go on (highly recommend going through the playlist in order if you're a complete beginner) you get to build your first javascript project. Ed also has a playlist of cool projects you can build using Vanilla javascript for your portfolio. Be sure to check them out and practice your javascript after going through the first playlist.

I hope you found this post relatable as well as helpful.

Happy coding😊

Â